Sauteed Orange Cauliflower and Bok Choy with Tahini Sauce

Today has been a very cloudy and dreary day. It used to be that I loved cloudy weather. It made me feel peaceful- like I had every reason to cuddle up on a sofa chair, read, and drink tea all day. People would be shocked when I told them this; that no, I didn’t find the cloudy weather “soooooo depressing…soooooo depressing,” (as one woman exclaimed to me). I figured growing up in southern California I had enough sunny days baked into me for a lifetime. But after living in Ohio for almost ten years, things are starting to change. When it’s cloudy I crave sun rays.

My boyfriend cracked one of his ribs so we spent much of the morning at an urgent care. I sat and read tabloids for almost two hours, my only other amusement being a sassy old woman who kept giving the staff an earful of her opinion about everything: from not wanting to give her social security number, to the forty minute wait time, to the fact that she didn’t like her name displayed on the “expected wait” monitor for everyone in the room to see.

I just leaned back in my chair and tried to doze off a little, wondering why an 80+ year old woman had more energy than me.

When we finally got home I felt hungry and taxed. I decided to bring a little sunshine into my like by cooking an orange cauliflower I bought yesterday.  

IMG_0379

I simply sauteed some orange cauliflower florets with bok choy in refined coconut oil. I added sea salt and a tahini sauce I wrote about in an old blog post:

2 tbsp of tahini 

1 tsp of olive oil

juice of one lemon 

1 garlic clove

2 tsp soy sauce

Blend all the ingredients in a food processor

I drenched the vegetables pretty heavily with the sauce. It was very flavorful! I had some slices of Tillamook sharp cheddar cheese on the side and then a champagne mango for dessert to keep up the orange theme (and because they’re delicious).

I think we are getting takeout from an Indian restaurant tonight. The leftovers will be a nice side to Chicken Dal, one of my favorites. 

IMG_0380

IMG_0385IMG_0382

About Huaccachina

I'm a snob in the kitchen and I enjoy it. I love simple foods in season.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

