Cold asparagus and yogurt soup

I have been saving the ends and peels of asparagus in the freezer for a couple months now. On Sunday I decided to make soup with them (also with the addition of two bunches of fresh asparagus. I made up the recipe and ate it hot without yogurt on Sunday and thought it was the most disgusting soup I have ever made.

Yesterday I was determined to make it somewhat palatable, if not delicious, so I strained all the woody fibrous parts out of the soup and added whole milk yogurt. I ate it cold. To my surprise, it WAS delicious!

I didn’t write down the measurements of everything I put in it, but here’s a basic idea:

I boiled down the woody asparagus ends in just enough water to cover them to make an asparagus stock. I cooked down a red onion for awhile and then added in 2 diced celery stocks. I brought about four cups of homemade chicken broth to a boil and added a peeled gold and red potato (what I happened to have), my preserved asparagus peels, and 2 extra bunched of asparagus. I let them cook until the potatoes were tender and added the onion mixture and asparagus “stock.” I added salt (make sure you add a little extra since you will be adding yogurt later) and a few pinches of cayenne pepper for spice. I added probably about a cup and a half of milk but I don’t really think that would have been necessary had I had enough broth to make it the right consistency.

The next morning I strained the soup through a sieve to remove all the woody, fibrous bits of the asparagus. At first I was doing this with cold soup and it was taking forever until I realized hot soup would probably strain a lot faster- it did! I then added whole milk yogurt until it had the taste I desired. 

I served it with some spinach sauteed in sesame oil, soy sauce, and garlic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

