The weekend and food

I had a wonderful weekend for food. On Friday I had a bag waiting for me from a local market CSA. It contained pea sprouts, pastured eggs, pastured Italian chicken sausage, celtuce, and blueberries. It was a steaming hot day so my primary desire after that was to head straight home to relax and eat.

I had some soaking cannellini beans awaiting my arrival. I rinsed them and threw them in a pot with water, crushed garlic, an onion, and several sprigs of oregano. I then set the pot to simmer. Beans are so fabulously easy to cook, and yet they seemed so intimidating before I discovered this.

I wanted something extra-decadent for my Friday night dinner, so I also started on a quiche. I decided on a pea sprout and goat cheese quiche with an almond flour crust. I discovered later that the delicate flavor of pea sprouts is a bit lost when hidden among other ingredients, but the quiche was delicious all the same. I had crisp green salad, then quiche, and a bowl of cannellini beans sprinkled with cracked pepper and dashed with fruity olive oil. It was a nice feast.

But I decided I wanted a sweet ending, even after enjoying a succulent nectarine. So, I made a clafoutis with blueberries, dark chocolate, and buckwheat flour…sounds strange and it was. But strange in the best of ways. It was definitely more breakfast-like, but that’s kind of how I like my desserts.

Saturday morning was spent drinking iced coffee and driving about aimlessly, trying to find refuge from the heat. I wandered into a grocery store to scrounge up a picnic lunch and dropped the iced coffee I had been nursing for over an hour. Very embarrassing, of course. After my lunch, I decided to let the heat vanquish me and headed for home. I watched Chocolat and was mesmerized by the hot chocolate and chocolate cake, and the lovely haunting music of the movie. Chocolate is indeed medicine, and I resolved to eat more of it.

For dinner I had cold chicken drumsticks sloshed in spicy dijon mustard. I swear I can eat some mustards like soup. I also had some fragrant and chewy jasmine rice and a marinated zucchini salad with a bit of tangy tomato sauce. On Thursday, I had cut the zucchini with my spiralizer, salted it, drained the water after a bit and seasoned it. The zucchini gets firm yet springy, like al dente pasta, when prepared this way. It was so cooling on that sun-dreary day. For dessert I had more of the blueberry and buckwheat clafoutis, cold from the fridge. I always love cold leftover clafoutis best.

Today was even more scorching but I braved the day and drove down to Columbus to visit some friends. I had a $14 sub-par salad with one friend, but later in the day my other friend served me some homemade asparagus soup, with some basil leaves floating on top. It was quite delicious and creamy. She served the soup with ciabatta toasts topped with smoked salmon, cream cheese and dill, cucumber slices, and red onion. Creamy vegetal soup, cool cucumbers, crisp toasts, and salty salmon…perfect antidotal delicacies to a hot day. She also sent me home with some fruit tarts.

On the way home I stopped by Whole Foods to return some rancid olive oil I had bought. I purchased raspberries, cotton candy grapes, champagne mangos, nectarines, einkhorn wheat flour, whole-milk plain yogurt (for making labneh), black pepper, almonds, peanut butter, and an 85% chocolate bar studded with quinoa and black rice. In the summer my food budget goes through the roof due to the plethora of amazing fruit, but every cent is worth it.

When I finally made it back home, I dug out the fruit tarts. I wasn’t keen on the look of the sugar-glazed fruit or the pastry crust, so I flicked off the fruit, dug out the custard and topped it with the fresh raspberries I bought. It was cool, tangy, and sweet and I am still not ready to return to work tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

