I was a little “happy” today so I had a mid-afternoon snack with multiple courses. First I had a few seedy Akmak crackers dipped into good hummus and also a few kalamata olives. The second course was extremely bitter chocolate (92 percent) with a medjool date. The third was a perfectly ripe and sweet champagne mango, which I ate with a knife and a fork; it tastes best that way. Finally I had some of my homemade dense and yeasty bread, toasted with salted butter spread on top.

For dinner I had a tomato salad which I marinated in soy sauce, mirin, olive oil, salt, and a slight touch of sesame oil. I added strips of basil right before eating. I ate this with an omelette and sriracha and a chestnut-scented Japanese sweet potato, baked in the oven and topped with tahini, salt, and strips of toasted nori. I then had a white nectarine so sweet and juicy it was like a jam-juice hybrid. For a second dessert I had a small piece of my bittersweet flourless cake.

A wonderful day of feasting in an air-conditioned apartment with my sheer, pale blue curtains drawn. This is the way I’d like to spend every Fourth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

