Never-ending blueberry sauce and a delicious dinner

The other day I bought a large package of blueberries. I feel that most blueberries are improved by cooking, so I planned to make a compote of sorts with them. I added a bit of water, hibiscus, and a star anise to a pot and got it simmering. I added the blueberries, maple syrup, and a pinch of salt, and immediately decided I didn’t add enough water. I was wrong. The blueberries gave off their own dark juice, of couse, so I ended up with more liquid than I planned. No matter- I added a bit of cornstarch and called it a sauce. I had some that night for dessert, spooned over some thick plain yogurt. It was so unbelievably good. I loved the slight spice and tartness the star anise and hibiscus added to the blueberries.

This morning I noticed I had a ripe white nectarine with a bad spot. I couldn’t eat it immediately, so I cut off the bad and put the good into the blueberry sauce for later. There’s plenty of blueberry sauce to make home for all the fruits of summer. In fact, I got some rhubarb in my CSA box today and decided to add that as well…I simply diced and roasted it. I may have to add more maple syrup to the sauce with the tart rhubarb, but it may please me that way. I hope this blueberry sauce is never-ending, but if course nothing is. This weekend I’m thinking of making a tart with this summer fruit compote: homemade pastry crust and perhaps a bed of mascarpone or chèvre.

I also had a truly pleasing dinner tonight. It satiated me, both my body and my senses. Every meal should be that way. For my first course I had a cucumber salad, partially peeled and dressed with herbed vinegar, parsley, olive oil, salt, pepper, and diced kalamata olives. I salted the cucumbers before adding the dressing so they could give off some of their extra liquid (of which I drank straight in a shot…would be delicious with some sparkling water).

For my main course, I had some leftovers. I love the ease (and taste) of leftovers… Tonight it was roasted cabbage mixed with tomato-laced Italian sausage. Roasted cabbage is so incredibly sweet and savory.

For dessert I had some diced champagne mango and a delicate white nectarine, beautiful to behold and almost indecently delicious. Who could want more than fruit for dessert in the summer? But, of course, there is always room for chocolate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

