I made a big pot of tomato soup yesterday, using fresh local tomatoes, homemade chicken stock, herbs, butter, and caramalized onions. It was sweet and rich in flavor, without a touch of added sugar.

I brought some of the leftovers to work with me today with some pearl barley mixed in. The barley thickened the soup tremendously, but it was quite delicious. While I was eating it, something tasted so familiar. ..then I realized. It was like a grown-up (and world’s better) version of spaghetti-o’s! I ate it with a celery heart and truffle-laced gouda, with white tea and chocolate for dessert. I didn’t envy my colleague’s instant mac’n’cheese for a moment.

About Huaccachina

I'm a snob in the kitchen and I enjoy it. I love simple foods in season.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

